( search forums )
Michal Marcinkowski interview with PinoyBattle.net
Soldat Forums - Soldat Talk - General Discussions
R
January 2, 2004, 9:58 pm
Here's an interview i found that includes Michal Marcinkowski and a person from pinoybattle.net. It is pretty interesting ;)

Aryeh: Good evening sir.

michalm@poczta.fm: Hello

Aryeh: It was an honor sir of giving me the time to meet up with you sir.]

michalm@poczta.fm: Well thank you, call me Michal

Aryeh: And you can call me Aryeh, Michal.
Aryeh: So Michal, can we start with the interview? =)

michalm@poczta.fm: Sure

Aryeh: Okay...
Aryeh: Well, Michal how did you came out with Soldat?

michalm@poczta.fm: It was in 2001, I played a lot of Half-Life Day of Defeat mod. I wanted to make myself a multiplayer game. I am the only person in my programming team so I had to think of a simple game to make. So I thought about a game with a couple of guys that shoot each other on simple 2d arenas. And I started coding.

Aryeh: so Half-Life was your influence of how you manage to start with your project eh? =)

michalm@poczta.fm: I play Day of Defeat to this day. And it still influences my game.

Aryeh: Tried Counter-strike? =)

michalm@poczta.fm: Well you could think that I love CS but no. I don't like it:) The realistic weapons were brought probably from Jagged Alliance and other games like that I used to play.

Aryeh: Oh... =)
Aryeh: Oh Michal, how old are you and where you from? =)

michalm@poczta.fm: I'm 18 and I live in Poland, Europe ;0

Aryeh: So young... now am starting to feel old... :-Z :-)
Aryeh: What were you using for making the project? VB? C++?

michalm@poczta.fm: I'm using the greatest programming tool ever created - Borland Delphi (well for me, cause I only know Pascal language:) ) For the graphics and sounds I use various freeware/shareware tools.