( search forums )
dm_snow field (Final update before release)
Soldat Forums - Soldat Maps & Map Making - Mapping Ideas / Discussions
The Geologist
November 29, 2004, 10:27 pm
I figured that, with the approach of the snow, it'd be fun to make a winter/snow type map. Here is a very, very rough screenie of the first outlines of the map. Basically, it consists of snow/ice sections on top of ground and other sections. The scenery (columns) creates sections of the map free of snow, almost like a shelter from the storm. The map will definately grow in size, but it will follow this trend. Any feedback is welcome.

Update: This is it...the final layout for the map. I tried putting in a little section for bullet time, but it really didn't work with the flow of the map...I think you can agree there is a definate feel to this map, no? As for the ice (dragons suggestion)...I'll admit, I'm still fairly new to mapping, and I didn't want to include anything like that until I'm a little more skilled with it. It may sound lame, but I really want these maps to kick ass. So I apologize if I let anyone down by not including those. I extended the lowest platform to give things a sort of "base", even though you will be able to slip off the edge of the map. Not a large jet map, it's meant for DM, ranbo, etc...close combat. This map will support DM, rambo, team match, and point match. :)

Here's the new overview:

[IMAGE]

dr dragon
November 29, 2004, 11:57 pm
Good start Geologist!
I suggest you get a blank scenery, make an ice filled section with water, a.k.a. that blank scenery in grey or sumthin' and if you fall a certain distance, you die! If you do that, make the water transparent and in front of all.Keep up the good work!

Fangus Deef
November 30, 2004, 12:01 am
my beef: how the hell would those tiny pillars hold up that much snow?

The Geologist
November 30, 2004, 12:04 am