( search forums )
k i need help
Soldat Forums - Server Talk - Server Help
FliesLikeABrick
May 1, 2005, 3:04 am
alright, as most of you know i run two servers:

one is private, and is the server that i have been running for about 2 years now. the computer that it is on now and has been on is:
2.4ghz
512mb ram
windows 2000

the other, which i added last fall, is public. it is
600mhz
660MB ram
windows 2000

they are both on the same connection, and i have been getting reports of lag issues with the first server: the faster one. I cannot think of anything that would cause it to lag, whereas the computer that is 3 times slower runs better..

any help? keep in mind they are on the same connection, so connection usage is not the issue. this server didnt lag before, it just started in the past month or three.

please be thorough in any possiblities for this, thanks

Deleted User
May 1, 2005, 4:06 am
Run task manager and watch it ('Processes' tab to see which process is using how much CPU etc) and see what happens when players report lag.

Also, try and reproduce the lag by taking note of the amount of players on each server.

Deleted User
May 1, 2005, 4:17 am
Number of players isn't the issue. The Public server almost always has more than the private, and they both have the same number of maximum players.

Deleted User
May 1, 2005, 4:28 am
Could line noise be a possibility? EMI? Are the machines close together or far apart?

FliesLikeABrick
May 1, 2005, 5:09 am
http://ww2.u13.net/u13/ they are not close enoguh together, and nothing has changed about ther position to start this lag. the lag started while i was here at college, and nobody ventures into that site of the basement.

It isnt cpu related, there is nothing running on there which would cause it, and i have looked at the cpu usage while lag was being reported... nothing special.

btw, the monitors on those comps are always off, so it is not noise from them

Yukwunhang
May 1, 2005, 5:44 am
Try to reinstall Windows?