( search forums )
CTF_Canyonlands (link fixed)
Soldat Forums - Soldat Maps & Map Making - Quality Maps
The Geologist
May 16, 2005, 10:42 pm
This map was a long time in the making. Partially because of school and not being able to give the map attention, and partially because this is my first time releasing a map after tinkering with a somewhat 3D feel. I have to admit...I lost my push to complete this map a good ways into the project (thus the odd looking sides), yet I wanted to make sure this map got released. I'll be leaving for field camp soon so I won't be around for roughly a month or two, making this my last release for the time being. Here's the breakdown:

*CTF ready
*Waypointed (roughly..bots score, but it's a large map)
*A few custom sceneries, all included in the download. A big thanks to whomever made some of these, as I have forgotten.
*Good for 8-14 players
* ~1200 poly count, definately the largest map I've ever made.

Screenie 1
Screenie 2
Screenie 3 (for Keron)
Overview

Download

Let me know if there are any problems or missing sceneries. This map was created to express my experience in Canyonlands, whether or not the color appeals to people isn't of my concern. Hope you can enjoy it.

Edit: After some poly problems, I've put the download up again. There's also a wireframe screenshot of one of the tunnels. Basically the black areas are all tunnels, and you can walk behind/through the lower pillars.

Edit 2: Turn off pop up blockers to download
Edit 3: Apparently someone else just made a ctf_canyon :/ So the name ws changed to canyonlands. Redownload if you want, it's only a map name change.

Avarax
May 16, 2005, 10:53 pm
what can i say...
nice 3d shading :D
i'd like to see more scenerys though.
as i can tell from the screenshot, gameplay will be 100% balanced and nice.

Maxx
May 16, 2005, 11:25 pm
Wow, huge map.
The 3d thing looks cool, but it always tends to look a little weird in a 2d game.
But still, very, very great and huge and awesome.