( search forums )
The future of soldat mapping [Update-2]
Soldat Forums - Soldat Maps & Map Making - Mapping Ideas / Discussions
papasurf31
July 26, 2005, 2:37 am
This is what i THINK the next standard of soldat maps should look like, with ambient lighting and sim-3D backgrounds. Done in polyworks, I hope that soon all maps will look as good as or hopefully, even better than this small shell. It's a work in progress and is still under heavy construction, it's also my first map, so please tell me what you honestly think.

OMG, teh sexiness:
[IMAGE]

actually, i decided this will be a map that can be for DM, CTF, TDM, PM, or RM. Inf is not really gonna work well with this map. :P

Vijchtidoodah
July 26, 2005, 3:20 am
:O

How much of that is scenery?

karmazon
July 26, 2005, 3:24 am
it's pretty pretty

Anna
July 26, 2005, 3:32 am
I love the 3D effects :D
I'm planning on writing some tutorials on how to achieve various effects using PolyWorks once I have some mapping experience :)

rabidhamster
July 26, 2005, 3:40 am
i always wanted dynamic alpha lighting effects...

likey likey, btw...

Deleted User
July 26, 2005, 3:48 am
Wow. That looks amazing.

Deleted User
July 26, 2005, 4:26 am
Wow, for your first map that looks very nice. You do plan on making the background a wee bit lighter, do you?

DeMonIc
July 26, 2005, 4:58 am
...holy crap...

..how the... I mean.. how.. just.. you.. I... him... *faints*

Really, how the hell is that even possible? And wouldn't it be unplayable for slower computers? That's amazing :O

Michal
July 26, 2005, 5:05 am
This looks great, I'm really looking forward to seeing this map finished. It's good to know that the map won't have any random bouncy polygons since you're using PolyWorks, because on maps with level surfaces it would get really bad.
Really nice work on the sceneries. I suggest you check out Avarax's ctf_de_cbble if you run out of ideas with what to put in your map, he made some great looking features in the indoor areas.