( search forums )
outlining help
Soldat Forums - Soldat Interface Mods & Mod Making - Modding help
ice_man
September 2, 2005, 10:16 pm
Hi, im a n00b to modding, and I'm a newb here. I just wanted to know, how does Field Marshal do that kind of outlining? I'm confused T.T. Is the black outline better for all parts of the gun, or for just the outside outline? I need help!

- Iceman

Deleted User
September 2, 2005, 10:37 pm
Hey, welcome to the forums :)

Field Marshal does that kind of stuff (^_o) by looking at the gun and outlineing the outside and inside details, then I shade them. So in my opinion its better to outline all parts of the gun and the outside. Hope that helps, and for shading tutorials go Here.

ice_man
September 2, 2005, 10:51 pm
Awesome! Learning from the master. Thanks. Let's see what I can do with my trusty photoshop.

OH and another question -

What's better? Paint or Photoshop? And why?

Thanks,

- Iceman

Deleted User
September 2, 2005, 11:16 pm
quote:Originally posted by ice_manAwesome! Learning from the master. Thanks. Let's see what I can do with my trusty photoshop.

OH and another question -

What's better? Paint or Photoshop? And why?

Thanks,

- Iceman

In my opinion paint is better, I've never used photoshop before though. I like paint because its user friendly and you can do somthing to a specific pixel that you desire

Meandor
September 3, 2005, 2:13 am
I don't reccomend using pure black for internal details, unless you're looking forward to obtaining a cartoonish effect. Depending on the effect you want, you should use a different colour. Dark brown is ideal to create an idea of wood borders, or it can be used to recreate warmness. For metallic surfaces it's often best to use very dark blue though.
Here's the difference (roughly) between a w-interface made with dark red borders/details and one with very dark brown/black.
[IMAGE]

September 3, 2005, 4:29 am