( search forums )
It will only get better
Soldat Forums - Soldat Talk - General Discussions
Ok
December 13, 2005, 1:40 pm
So many talks of other versions and complaints about this one etc etc.
I'm a huge fan of nostalgy and its pretty obvious with all my posts.
But when it comes to the game itself I'm somehow confused.

Now don't get me wrong , I'm a huge fan of 1.2
But the difference is my friends, is that you are not aware of the reasons to the speciality of that version.
I'm not a programmer, (so far from that) but!
1.2 was the least buggy version betwin the new age versions (MEaning everything that came AFTER 1.1.5)

1.2 was not the most balanced, I remember the need to apply teamwork against teams that didnt even know the meaning of that just for the simple reason they used certin weapons.

HOWEVER! it was not as unbalanced as 1.2.1, and get this, the main and most important reason of all, it was the most free of bugs version.
That simple! forget the balance! its not important, ppl enjoyed a game of basicly 1 major weapon (Barret) in 1.1.5 and before it!
And they enjoyed it and played it and didn't whine as much as today.

Think about it, the bugs are the most annoying thing in the game, no bad balance can [CENSORED] up a game like unregistered shots, or invisble nades and insible shots, or just players warp all over insted of lag for them.
Fact: I find it easier to play (and hit) with a 200 ping rather then a 100 one. (after 2 years of playing with 100 ping), its just harder for others to hit me, while shots actualy register with my 200 ping. wierd innit.

So 1.2 was great because it wasn't a barret and camping game anymore, WHILE not having as many bugs as the next versions introduced.
Now I'm no programmer, I'm no net expert either. but it seems to me, that 1.2.1 with its bink introduction created more bugs, and 1.3 with the self bink (plus the already existing bink) introduced even MORE bugs, and 1.3.1 as usual brought even more new and annoying bugs.