[DM] Moonlit Cliff (first map attempt)
Soldat Forums - Soldat Maps & Map Making - New Maps
carnageX
April 27, 2006, 12:23 am
Moonlit Cliff
{Yeah, I'm not very good at making names up either XD}

Preview: http://i3.tinypic.com/wjjk74.jpg

Download: [URL]

Well, this is my first attempt at a map with Soldat Polyworks. I'll probably get the hang of it if I keep at it, but yeah, this is my first go at it. Also, the map doesn't work to well with bots, because I have basically no idea on how to use waypoints =\. I'm sure I'll get the hang of that sooner or later though, also. It's a relatively small map, because I'm not to sure on the dimensions of the maps, so you'll have to excuse me on that, as well.

Well, what do you all think? Good or bad for a first-timer? Constructive criticism is appreciated, thanks =).

Deleted User
April 27, 2006, 12:38 am
For a first map, it's really good. My first map had a complete paucity of shading, and a pretty bad layout. This map has some nice shading, although lacking in some areas. The moon is a nice touch, and the gameplay is actually pretty fun. It's a great one-on-one map, and me and my friend had some fun playing realistic one-on-one (i got him good hiding in those little caves.) Altogether, this map is a great first attempt, and could use shading on the outer ring surrounding the level.

carnageX
April 27, 2006, 12:46 am
Thanks =). I didn't really think I should add shading on the outside because, well, you wouldn't really be paying attention to the outside, but I'll shade the outside of it, and see how it looks =).

Heh, yeah, those cave-areas are kinda death traps, lol. But I have most of the power-ups spawn there, so if you're lucky (and fast) you may be able to get them =P.

Thanks for the criticism, BTW, I appreciate it. Hopefully I can make some other ones, and hopefully they'll be a lot better.

Eagles_Arrows
April 27, 2006, 1:01 am