( search forums )
Lobby server [experimental] and ideas
Soldat Forums - Soldat Talk - Developers Corner
rusty
April 1, 2005, 8:07 pm
Hey guys - me again!

I've always been interested in how the lobby server works, so a few days ago I started playing around trying to work out the protocol and have finally come up with something that appears pretty stable and can talk to the Soldat client. It doesn't implement 100% of the protocol and some of the filtering options don't work perfectly, but it generally seems to work well. You can grab the files and code here (you'll need a recent version of Java to run):

[URL]

To run, use the start.bat file provided or from the same directory type:

java lobbyserver.LobbyServer

You will need UDP port 13073 open to run the server.
To use the server with Soldat, you will need to edit your lobby_servers.txt file.
Type 'help' to see a list of commands once you've got it running

What I think is especially useful is the feature to 'mirror' another lobby server - so you can run your own lobby server and instantly get all the servers from another. This brought up two ideas:

1) My own lobby server viewer? Then I considered that Michal has done an excellent job with the one built in to Soldat and ASE is also excellent even if it isn't free, so there might not be much point. This would also be a lot of work and something I wouldn't be prepared to get stuck into right now - maybe someone else could use my findings and code as a base for a fan made one? Any comments?