( search forums )
Some questions
Soldat Forums - Soldat Talk - Developers Corner
Uchihajeff
September 18, 2003, 6:28 am
Hi I am basically a complete noob to programming, but I want to create a game. O and if this is somewhat off-topic or not allowed, Im sorry. Well anyway...
I want to create a game and learn a good game creating programming language at the same time. I don't want to use any game creator programs. I want some tips about where to start. My idea is to make a platform game like soldat, not 3-d. Any suggestions?

NightCabbage
September 18, 2003, 12:14 pm
Well, step 1: Choose a language.

There's C, and all it's many many incarnations.

Then there's Java, which is completely free.

And Delphi, which Soldat is made with.

And heaps more :P

Pick one, and go with it.

Practice a bit, make whatever you can.

And feel free to always ask for help ^_^

Uchihajeff
September 19, 2003, 6:50 am
I heard a really common one is C++ and i heard it is a pretty good language. Would it be good for games?

NightCabbage
September 20, 2003, 12:26 pm
Indeed it is :)

In fact, you'll find that most commercial games are made with C++

Anything from Unreal to StarCraft =)

SimdroneX
September 20, 2003, 1:19 pm
Good Luck! LOL, I almost shot myself trying to learn that.
If you are serious about this, buy a really good book, or sign up for a comp sci. class at some community college, because finding a decent newbie tutorial on the net is next to impossible.

Uchihajeff
September 20, 2003, 5:07 pm
Thank all of you for ur help, those were good ideas. But I have one more question. I researched a bit about C++ and I have some more questions. Is Visual C++ easier than C++? Does it have the same power? Pros? Cons?

SimdroneX
September 20, 2003, 7:15 pm